I went to learn something from Bro. Eli just brag to my friends

 

But what happened was that instead of bragging to my barkada, my hanging out with them began to lessen, and lessen, and lessen. I was then on the watch for the Ang Dating Daan program.

 

By Jaydie Lee

I learned about Bro. Eli Soriano in 1997 at a time I was a Catholic. I went to a Protest High School and was attending an Evangelical Church. I had tried reading the Bible and with the New Testament, I did it three times but could not understand anything.

Despite this, I had many questions in my mind but I did not bother having them answered because I knew that I believed in God and so perhaps satan was just troubling me.

I started to look for answers to my questions when other people asked me the same questions. There, I found out that I was not alone. I was working then by day and studying by night but because of my youth perhaps, I would take time outside before going home.

In these hang-outs, sometimes the discussions would lead to religion and so we had exchanges of opinions which lead to serious discussions. In these conversations, I felt some joy because I was able to hear of intelligent questions as well as intelligent answers to the questions in my mind.

And so that’s why! I discovered that one of my friends was an avid watcher of the program of Bro. Eli, the Ang Dating Daan. This program now is The Old Path when shown in international shores with foreign audience.

What my friend had learned from Bro. Eli, he would braaaaaaag to us! But because of him, not for long, I learned that the program, Ang Dating Daan is in Channel 37.

Unfortunately this channel to our TV monitor is quite blurred, perhaps because of our antenna that was too high. Nevertheless, even without picture, there is still sound, so I listened.

In listening, I was lead to handle the Bible so that I can follow the reading. I took a pen and paper and listed down the verses to arm myself against my friends when our conversations would lead to religion again.

But what happened was that instead of bragging to my barkada, my hanging out with them began to lessen, and lessen, and lessen. I was then on the watch for the Ang Dating Daan program.

It did not take long that I looked for the nearest Church local in our place. It was in Area G of Dasmarinas, a rather small place in a crowded area.

I took down the schedule and attended the assembly, thinking that it was like with the Catholics that as long as you attended, you can already be called a member.

When I talked to the church worker assigned in Area G, he invited me to undergo indoctrination. Although I did not understand what indoctrination meant, I went anyway.

In that indoctrination, everything began to get clear. More so when I was baptized and got affiliated on March 20, 1998. My former thinking that was devoid of understanding now gets fed and now abound with food because of God using Bro. Eli as an instrument. Thanks be to God!

This entry was posted in Bible exposition, Biblical knowledge, Debate, heart/mind opened, looking for God, New truth, preacher guide, Search for truth, The Old Path TV, thirst for righteousness, True preacher, TV program, unequalled knowledge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I went to learn something from Bro. Eli just brag to my friends

  1. admin says:

    Because we look for intelligent answers to intelligent questions, we find the truth!

  2. Jo Cervania says:

    I had learned from Bro. Eli that a wise man asks questions and looks for answers until the truth reveal, which is a commandment for us. Thanks be to God that you have not stopped on searching for answers.

    I was overwhelmed also that from pride to boast over your friends in discussing religion,you discovered the virtue of meekness through listening to Bro. Eli’s preaching.

    To God be the glory forever and ever!

  3. Onyx says:

    i remember a brother he thought he was a already a member because he by attending & following bro.Eli he thought he was In or part of the church hehehe anyways in your case good for you thanks be to God & may God always take care you & your family🙂

  4. I can relate to this story. There are really instances wherein a person’s interest to religion is stirred by heated discussions within a circle of friends. It is God’s will that ADD’s TV program is a popular show that almost all people who have heated discussion about the subject will mention it, if not talk about it.

  5. nikkiability says:

    I, too, have been reading the Bible ever since, and by myself, I really did not understand it. Had not it been through Bro. Eli, I would not be able to understand Biblical truths, or more so I would have been continuously deceived my barking pastors.

  6. From leisurely brag to curiosity, he’s not aware that what he did as a start is one of the very foundations of a change…. Listening !

  7. From leisurely brag to curiosity, he’s not aware that what he did as a start is one of the very foundations of change…. Listening !

  8. I still remember the sleepless nights I had during college years. Bro Eli’s preaching via DZRH from 8:30-10:00 pm made me relax at the same time satisfied with the Biblical truth he exposed.

Leave a Reply

