He was under heavy attack by the Iglesia ni Cristo and I wanted to side with the good man

In the later stages of my life, I doubted if I was really their blood sister or not. Then I decided to go to school at all costs so that I can realize my dream of serving GOD and at the same time able to get rid of my brothers’ and  sisters’ persecution.

 

By Nancy Villegas

I am going 8 years old in spirit.  I was born on December 9, 1951 to Magdalino Villegas and Dionisia Divela.

My parents were very poor, though my father comes from a middle class family of politicians. My mother happened to be the daughter of their family’s servant.  Both of my parents are not church goers. They were just tied up in earning a living for their 8 children. They could not even find a permanent job because they were only elementary graduates.

When  I  started  schooling in 1959 in Calamba, Elementary School, I suffered  so much hardships  due to lack of financial and  moral support  from my blood brothers and  sisters. I grew up in this family belittled and continuously berated by my own brothers and sisters. At that time the only reason I knew was that they disliked me opposing their family traditions. I was a church goer while they were not. I had a little IQ higher than those of my brothers and sisters that whenever I suggested that I go to school, they opposed me right away. I never went with them to quack doctors nor believe d in their ceremonies. I don’t believe their fiestas even. For this reason they always found fault in me so that my parents would expel me later from the family. By 1968, I was in 2nd year high school, when my eldest brother beat me to death because I refused to celebrate with their fiesta. I was hospitalized for one week because of the wounds inflicted on me.

In the later stages of my life, I doubted if I was really their blood sister or not. Then I decided to go to school at all costs so that I can realize my dream of serving GOD and at the same time able to get rid from my brothers’ and  sisters’ persecution. During this time, my sisters were already successful in finding a way to expel me from the home under the guise of letting me to go to school with my mother’s friend who will support my studies but I have to go with them to Manila. So I agreed and went with them.

Working in Manila, I was treated like an animal, not even like servant because they didn’t want us to rest from work and they gave us very minimal food to eat. After two months, I was unable to bear, so I escaped and went to Channel 7 where Uncle Bob and Mrs. Stewart were the owners. They accepted me as a cook. After one year, I left them and went with my friend, Sister Therese Vicente of Quiapo, Manila.

In the convent of Sister Therese, I became her errand girl while she sent me to school. Here I finished my 2nd year college at St. Rita College, Manila. Since she refused me in her convent, I went to Laguna to Bishop Bantigue who sent me to Italy together with 14 other candidates for religious life.

By August 1985, I arrived in Italy.  I was quite expecting that my life here would be much better. But I was wrong because people in the convent there were more hypocrites and demanding than in the Philippines. They acted as our Big Brothers who provided all our needs but secretly we were made to be hired by private companies for big salaries which we could not even touch nor see.

Our name was ‘Missionary of Faith’ but we did not observe our roles as a religious. Meanwhile, our Italian superiors lived like ordinary persons. They fell in love with each other but their mother general did not give them sanctions. I just thanked GOD that they regarded us as inferior beings because they didn’t have interest in us. They just regarded us as servants and laborers to serve them.

After three years there, as if I was unable to bear their actions. I went one-on-one with my local superior and spoke politely as to why she was having a date with her priest boyfriend. Then she answered me: Who are you to talk to me that way? Are you not the mendicant that we help become persons, and now you turn against me? Then that congregation expelled me from them and sent me back to the Philippines empty handed in 1987.

I was back to Sister Therese in 1989 and she sent me back to school. By 1993 I finished my 3rd year college. After this I asked her to let me go to my sisters in Cainta. This was the time I saw them watching TV whereby Bro. Eliseo Soriano was preaching but I just didn’t mind it because my disappointment to the sisters was still fresh.  I went to Tugueggarao and then back to Manila.

By1997 I joined the El Shaddai group. I was accepted as a cook in Mike Velarde’s residence. Here I continued my studies in 4th year college. Then in 1998, I left them for Tuguegarao in order to help in the grocery of my sister, Merly.

During this time, I was restless because I wanted to really find the truth about GOD. In 2002, I decided to look for Ang Dating Daan and joined them. So I went back to Manila. I went to SBN 21 to ask questions to Bro. Eli but actually my purpose was to know how to join his congregation. He was under heavy attack by the Iglesia ni Cristo (INC) and I wanted to side with him for I believed that Bro. Eli was really a good man. All he preached were true and they answered all my life’s questions through the questions of other persons.

Then I was indoctrinated from February, 2002 to April, 2002. In April 26, 2002, I was baptized by Bro. Mauricio Bernardo. From then on I lived a new and peaceful life though I continuously shopped for a proper work for me to do for the church. And now GOD has given me one. Through Bro. Eli and Bro. Daniel, I found myself – and much, much more, I found GOD.

TO GOD BE THE GLORY!


This entry was posted in Experience leading to salvation, Search for truth, True preacher and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to He was under heavy attack by the Iglesia ni Cristo and I wanted to side with the good man

  1. elmantheman says:

    All thanks be to God.

    Keep it up sis.

    You know we never used flattery, nor did we put on a mask to cover up greed—God is our witness. 1 Thessalonians 2:5 NIV

    And we also thank God continually because, when you received the word of God, which you heard from us, you accepted it not as the word of men, but as it actually is, the word of God, which is at work in you who believe…. See More

    For you, brothers, became imitators of God’s churches in Judea, which are in Christ Jesus: You suffered from your own countrymen the same things those churches suffered from the Jews, who killed the Lord Jesus and the prophets and also drove us out. They displease God and are hostile to all men in their effort to keep us from speaking to the Gentiles so that they may be saved. In this way they always heap up their sins to the limit. The wrath of God has come upon them at last.

    But, brothers, when we were torn away from you for a short time (in person, not in thought), out of our intense longing we made every effort to see you. For we wanted to come to you—certainly I, Paul, did, again and again—but Satan stopped us. For what is our hope, our joy, or the crown in which we will glory in the presence of our Lord Jesus when he comes? Is it not you? Indeed, you are our glory and joy. 1 Thessalonians 2:13-20 NIV

  2. Celine says:

    This is a sad story, for although we share the same background like being raised in a poor family, the love and care of my father and my mother were the central focus of our lives as young children.

    Yours is a different one, and my tears are falling.

    Yet, we ended up in the same Church, and I know we share the same sentiment to our leaders, Brother Eliseo Soriano and Brother Daniel Razon, who are leading us to the way to eternity.

    We share the same gratitude to our God Almighty, Who has chosen us from among the billions of people to serve Him.

    We will join our hands and offer thanksgiving to the same God we worship.

    And at the end of the day, after we have done our share of responsibility, we can say, though small it maybe, we are still the worthless servant you have chosen us to be.

    Amen and God bless.

  3. REYLABS says:

    TO GOD BE THE GLORY…SALAMAT SA DIOS SA KANYANG KALOOB NA DI MASAYOD.ANG LAHAT AY GUMAGAWA SA IKABUBUTI NG MGA NAGSISIIBIG SA KANYA.

  4. celyn yen says:

    I was so sad in reading this story. It’s not an ordinary one, know you have done so many sacrifices but see how God search for you. You are so blessed like no any other servants outside. I hope God would continue in blessing you. Always to God be the glory!

  5. bongdomingo says:

    “During this time, I was restless because I wanted to really find the truth about GOD. In 2002, I decided to look for ANG DATING DAAN and joined them.”

    I share the same restlessness too, about the same year I longed for something that I know my faith then sadly can not quench… until I heard Bro. Eli’s preachings. Unlike you sis Nancy, i had no intention of joining Ang Dating Daan, but one night of indoctrination leads to another and another… we even reached as late as 12 midnight just discussing about the Bible and how ridiculous our old religion then.

    Looking back, I shout with great joy in this heart and with thanksgiving that GOD put that deep longing in this being, that restlessness in search for His Truth. Great thanks for leading us to this fold.

    There’s nothing like “lingap ng Panginoon natin”🙂

  6. “Our name was ‘Missionary of Faith’ but we did not observe our roles as a religious. Meanwhile, our Italian superiors lived like ordinary persons. They fell in love with each other but their mother general did not give them sanctions. I just thanked GOD that they regarded us as inferior beings because they didn’t have interest in us. They just regarded us as servants and laborers to serve them.”

    This is quite surprising with the image that the Catholic Church tries to portray on mass media. Their holiness is not skin-deep. The word “hypocrisy” is better suites their being.

  7. Pingback: Twitted by sermonideas4U

  8. joyce ivy says:

    It was a long journey of different struggles and pains that lead you in finding the truth. Thanks be to God, He lead us in His congregation!

  9. Cathy says:

    Tears keep falling.. I was really touched.. Life is a long run until we found the real Path leading to God — “THE OLD PATH”

    Thanks be to God for he has given us the True leaders Bro Eli and Bro Daniel.

    To God be the Glory!

  10. youngminds75 says:

    great post!Godbless.

Leave a Reply

