The Old Path – I shall walk in it for it is where my soul found rest

By Gerry Yabes

 

When I was a child, I have been exposed to my parents’ religion, which is,  like most Filipinos, Catholicism. However, they were never active members of the Catholic church.

Which is why during my childhood, I was allowed to shift gears and become an active member of the Casilagan Pentecostal Church in our town.  I was religiously involved in every activity: I always attended the group’s parties and youth camp activities.  As time went by and I grew older, I became one of the children’s Sunday morning teachers.

When I reached my senior year in high school, I began feeling differently towards my faith.  Something was amiss and I was determined to find out what it was.

And so I searched for the truth.   I listened to different pastors airing their sermons on the radio.  This is how I was able to chance upon Bro. Eli Soriano’s preaching over DZCV Tuguegarao.  I first came to understand the Bible through his teachings, in the year 2000.

As months went by, I sincerely felt that I was learning much about the Bible through Bro. Eli.  Whenever I listen to Ang Dating Daan (The Old Path), Bro. Eli is there, never failing to tell the truth in the Bible.  I admire Bro. Eli for many reasons, but most of all, I admire him because of his unflawed understanding of God’s words.  Eventually, I left my religion because along with its erroneous doctrines.

It was in October 2001 when I began to look for a local chapter.  There I met Bro. Danny Manuel in Naguilian,Isabela. He introduced me to Bro. Nick Janqui, a Church worker.  I can still remember the first Bible Study topic that I heard – it  was about the use of the Bible in attaining salvation.

In 2002, I underwent the indoctrination services of the Members Church of God International (MCGI).  Eventually, I was baptized on March 12 of the same year.  On that blessed day, Bro. Sonny Catan officiated my baptism.

Now, what lies ahead is to serve my God – the true God that I haven’t known before.  In this Church I have known the importance of faith in doing good works, coupled with fervent prayers for the propagation of the Word of God.  With God’s help and mercy, and through the leadership of Bro. Eli Soriano and Bro. Daniel Razon, I am on the old path that is written in Jeremiah 6:16. The Old Path is where goodness is and I shall walk on it, for it is where my soul found rest.


This entry was posted in Biblical knowledge, New truth, preacher teacher, Search for truth, True preacher, True religion, unequalled knowledge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Old Path – I shall walk in it for it is where my soul found rest

  1. bongdomingo says:

    it’s good to have that longing for the truth… to search.. … and to have found where this weary soul truly rest…. to have finally found its one true home. Thanks be to GOD.

  2. Charmine Marte says:

    true true! to be finally in the true church of God without any doubts gives a great peace of mind and extreme happiness which you can’t explain and a sure contentment in life. its a great feeling. thanks be to God for that and for giving brother Eli the key to unlock the simple plan of God to us.

  3. dheycruz says:

    …i could search for all places and find… there is none like this…THE OLD PATH!
    To God be the Glory forever.

  4. jocelyn53 says:

    Millions of Filipinos were denied the true religion. And for me, that is tragic. Brother Eliseo Soriano is sent by God in the midst of these millions of people yet, they mistreat him. Now, he is in the midst of foreign nationals who welcome him with warm embrace.

    I am very lucky to know him and believe in what he is preaching.

    I pray to God that my family can see what I have seen, feel what I have felt, embrace what I have known, in this religion.

    The other day I asked my Sister, an intelligent woman in her line of profession, ‘when are you going to listen to Brother Eli,’ and she said ” bukas ah”.

    I hope the “bukas” will go for a long time for I want them to join me in this faith.

    Thanks be to God.

  5. nikkiability says:

    I also never felt spiritually contended with my former religion. It is only in the Church of God where I found true peace of mind, heart and soul.

Leave a Reply

