I resolved never to return but the first doctrine already caught my heart

We just found out that she’s been baptized in this certain religion popularly known as Ang Dating Daan.   I thought she was crazy.  But my father was baptized next.

I was baptized on May 10, 2002 in the Members Church of God International with a story I could never forget.

My life was great before:  good friends, good family, receiving worldly-honors at school, enjoying every day of my life. But still, something seemed to be missing.

I went to a Catholic Church regularly, sometimes dropping by just to kneel and pray to a God that I never knew for seventeen years.

I would find myself so sad and empty sometimes that I just sat alone, looking at the sky as if I were looking and searching for something that I didn’t really know.

I spent many times just writing my heart out, trying to figure out what was wrong with me.  In 2002, I finally found the answer.

My older sisters’ long lost high-school friend came to our house one time.  She had long hair and was wearing long skirt.  She usually hang out with my sisters.  At first I was sort of jealous because I always went to church with my sisters. Later on, one of my sisters never came with us to church at all.

We just found out that she’s been baptized in this certain religion popularly known as “Ang Dating Daan.”   I thought she was crazy.  But my father was baptized next.  I was curious about this Bro. Eli Soriano, preacher of that group, and so I moved to find out what this was all about.

It was April 2002 when my father invited me to what they called “doktrina.”  At first, I attended but with a hidden resolve that I would never go back again.  But the first doctrine already caught my heart. The way their sisters and brothers in the faith greeted me made me cry deep inside. It was as if I finally found the perfect happiness I’d been looking for.

I went through all the indoctrination sessions until the end. Days before baptism, I’d been contemplating and praying.  I hated wearing skirt, but now I had to do it according to the doctrines. It is a shame for women to be wearing pants as they are not proper before God.

I enjoy spending time with my friends but now they hate me for not having time for them. I’d been asking myself if I will continue with the baptism. I took the Bible for the first time, and opened it, and the first verse that caught my attention was as if God was pointing it to me -Matthew 7:14. “Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it.”

On May 9, 2002, a day before baptism, I wrote a poem saying goodbye to my old self –

A day after this day, I’ll be unsame; I’ll be different from yesterday.

My old soul will die, and this weary heart will shut.

A day after this day, my mind will seek for truth, these eyes won’t look at the same path.

A day after this day, I’ll be unsame, I’ll be different from yesterday.

I’ll lay myself at bed for the last time, because tomorrow, I will lay myself on the waters,

And the Holy Spirit will come down and build a home in me.

So I say goodbye to me… for tomorrow, I’ll not be me.

Yes, my life was great before:  good friends, happy family, worldly-honors and happiness.  It’s true, that was great.  But I never thought that it would be greater now that I found the true and perfect happiness inside the Church!

To God be the Glory!

by Kristine Castro

This entry was posted in Bible exposition, heart/mind opened, moment of decision, New truth, preacher guide, transformation, True happiness, True religion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I resolved never to return but the first doctrine already caught my heart

  1. cipher pol 7 says:

    Its comforting to see people change because they have seen and heard the truth.

    I heard from Kuya Daniel, that “some people change, not because they see the truth but because they feel the heat.”

    He said that one time in one International Thanksgiving.

    Take care always!

  2. “Yes, my life was great before: good friends, happy family, worldly-honors and happiness. It’s true, that was great. But I never thought that it would be greater now that I found the true and perfect happiness inside the Church!”

    I agree, sister! Truly, perfect happiness shall be found inside the true church, the Church of God because we learn how to be content.

    Sometimes, changes are hard to accept but because God is the one who wills, we have no reason to resist! Surely it will always be for the best.

    May the joy in our hearts continue to grow as we render good service to everyone!

    May God bless us all!

  3. nikkiability says:

    Amazing that I had a closely similar experience when I was also 17! Thanks be to God!

Leave a Reply

