They were laughing at me and why I was trying to get myself affiliated with a loser

There is no such SANE person who would sacrifice this much, using time, effort, money and in the end will be counted nothing before God. It means Bro. Eli was really motivated by someone powerful that made him do these godly works of salvation.


By Glenn Limpangog

I can recall that I have heard a very convincing voice over the TV. It came from a pastor with big eye glasses and looking very much presidential when he dressed at one time or another in suits. I never paid much attention to this person, however. This happened in 1999. I was also the time I was living a carefree life – no absolute plans about what to do with my life.

Suffice it to say that I was enchanted by this man’s preaching. At that time, however, it did not strike me as serious to be a member of the organization that he represented until that day my mother died from cancer.

I was awakening to reality. The year before this, my father died from another sickness. With just a year gap between the two deaths, I felt devastated. I cursed God for such misfortune that came into my life. It took me 3 months from that rebellious position and when I became sober, I felt very much guilty. Having become empty too, I took an initiative to repent in the form of searching for God through religions that were available here in our city.

I did try different faiths from the born again movement, to CFC fellowships and even the Iglesia ni Cristo (INC). In the INC, I stayed for half a year and became a candidate for baptism but a friend of mine and a neighbor said that I should try Ang Dating Daan (ADD) too.

They were laughing at me and why I was trying to get myself affiliated with a loser. There was this running debate on biblical matters on TV at that time with the ADD and the INC that I was not aware of. It appears that the INC could not surpass the ADD.

I was eager then to be part of the INC so I joined them in the “crusade” of propagating the truth through GEM or Grand Evangelical Mission. We were told to give away Pasugo (The Message) magazines to people we met. While we were doing the “giving away,” we came into one of the chapters of ADD along the way.

I remember I did throw a magazine discreetly in the hope that they might consider and be open minded and listen to the INC. That was what was playing in my head.

Later on, I considered what I heard from the side of Bro. Eliseo Soriano, the program host of Ang Dating Daan and also the Presiding Minister of the Members Church of God International.

What Bro. Eli said is true: The INCs call it holy supper instead of Lord’s Supper and they held it in the morning. I had experienced witnessing the INCs “holy supper” held at 9:00 o’clock in the morning inside the chapel. I did not attend their GEM anymore after that.

Instead I went to the ADD locale and I was lucky enough that they were having a Prayer Meeting. I saw Bro. Eli cry and urge the brethren to help and propagate more the truth he had known. As reflected on the screen Bro. Eli said that by himself alone, he had nothing to lose; but the burden or the necessity was laid unto him much like St. Paul.

I was moved and deep down I asked myself that if this man is not being used by God, what is he for? If he does all these things by himself I think it was not right.

There is no such SANE person who would sacrifice this much, using time, effort, money and in the end will be counted nothing before God. It means that Bro. Eli was really motivated by someone powerful that made him do these godly works of salvation. I was convinced right there and then; in that moment, I saw his pure intent, from his tears and that zealousness of heart to carry out the work of salvation.

After the prayer meeting, the worker assigned said something about indoctrination and I counted myself in. The rest is history and I am already 9 years in the Church of God. It was through the mercy of God that I came to know Him, Bro. Eli and Kuya Daniel. I feel so blessed and I am humbled to see this kind of people who care much for the souls rather than the wealth the world can offer.

There are things I don’t understand yet but I trust God that they will all be clear in due time. Thanks be to GOD!!!

This entry was posted in Bible exposition, Biblical knowledge, Debate, Experience leading to salvation, heart/mind opened, moment of decision, preacher guide, Search for truth, work of salvation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to They were laughing at me and why I was trying to get myself affiliated with a loser

  1. goob says:

    Fragments of truth being sewn one by one, till all become one whole awesome truth…

    Thanks be to God!!!

  2. orange says:

    Bro. Eli is a gift to this generation…

    I wish him good health. And I pray that he will be that faithful servant still when his Lord comes and find him so doing.😀

  3. gfl says:

    wow. am turning 11 years come september. thanks be to God! by the way am the author😀

Leave a Reply

