Whereas there was much hypocrisy in others, in the Church of God, I accepted the truth without hesitation

Then came a time I heard and watched Bro. Eliseo Soriano, preaching a different kind of knowledge in the Bible. I came to notice that I am beginning to go into his teachings.

By Marieta G. Gelua

My friends call me Mayet. I came from a poor family in Bicol. I just finished my studies through the kindness of my uncle. I used to sell “talbos ng kamote and kangkong” during my grade school years just to have “baon” (lunch) together with my younger brother.

My uncle took me to Pangasinan after finishing my high school. He sent me to college. I took up BS Education majoring in Library Science. After graduating in college, I was fortunate to have my first job as a junior librarian at the Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University in La Union with a temporary status of appointment. When my appointment ended, I rested for few months thinking where to go. I was able to find a teaching job in Olongapo City. I taught there for four years. Having no opportunity to become permanent, I decided to move to Bataan. There I met my husband and got four children. I am working at the Bataan State College as a librarian with teaching load in the high school, handling Filipino subjects for almost 15 years now.

I’ve gone to so many congregations. But I found nothing but hypocrisy in some members. It was in the early part of 1980 when we were baptized in the Iglesia ni Cristo. In 1988, I stop joining them on worship service and all church activities because I have so many questions on my mind that the church could not answer.

I did not even go back to Catholicism. Then I joined the Born Again movement where my friend is a member. I found also many wrong things about their faith. There’s no depth in their worship to God. For me, they just make fun of Jesus Christ every time they say “Palakpakan natin si Cristo” (let’s clap for Jesus Christ) and then they read a short passage in the Bible but they do not have enough explanation about the passage they read. I was not contented. I also joined the “Handmaids of the Lord” which is a group of women – women who are single or old maids, single parents and widows. Same thing. I found nothing but hypocrisy among members.

Then came a time I heard and watched Bro. Eliseo Soriano, preaching a different kind of knowledge in the Bible. I came to notice that I am beginning to go into his teachings. So I decided to invite my Ninang (godmother in the catholic tradition) who became a member of this congregation to have a Bible Study at home. From then on, I continued listening to Bro. Eli and finished the indoctrination.

I was baptized in the Church with my sister last December 30, 2005. Whereas there was much hypocrisy in others, in the Members Church of God International, I accepted the truth without hesitation. In this Church, I know that deep inside my heart and soul, God is calling me. I want to serve him in my own little way until I die.

This entry was posted in moment of decision, New truth, preacher guide, Search for truth, True preacher, True religion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whereas there was much hypocrisy in others, in the Church of God, I accepted the truth without hesitation

  1. erhynireh says:

    That’s the big difference Sis! I also noticed that even the first time I set foot at ADD Coordinating Center near our place, I don’t know someone personally or even a neighbor that is a member of MCGI, but I did not felt unwelcomed. I did not felt any hypocrisy in their eyes or the way they speak and the way they accomodate me the 1st few days I am visiting the locale to watch and hear Bro. Eli’s teachings. I will be forever grateful for that day. I am now certain that I am in good hands with God, He led me to the true Church. All praises to our God Almighty!

  2. gordon says:

    “There’s no depth in their worship to God. For me, they just make fun of Jesus Christ every time they say “Palakpakan natin si Cristo” (let’s clap for Jesus Christ) and then they read a short passage in the Bible but they do not have enough explanation about the passage they read.”

    Hala! Bawal ang magpaliwanag. Dapat basa lang. Yan ang turo ng Iglesia tungkol sa mga sitas ng Bibliya. Mas kunti yung paliwanag mas mabuti dahil dapat basa lang. Walang paliwanag. Yan ang turo ni Bro. Eli

Leave a Reply

