I accepted the death of my child wholeheartedly and with gladness

First and foremost, my child came from God; and second, she was already assured of salvation. He read to me some verses, and after hearing them, the sadness in my heart vanished. Instead of grieving, I accepted the death

By Danny Tobias

I’ve met Sis. Baby, my wife, before I became a member of the Church of God. We met in Bulacan in the year 1983. We were blessed with twins – Rhoann and Jhoann. The latter is already a member of our Church.

It was in the year 1983 that I heard God’s teachings for the first time. It was at a public meeting that Bro. More was presiding. I still remember that Bro. More’s meeting then was just lit by candles. It so happened that I was riding a bike on my way to a gambling session when I passed by the place where they were gathered.

For reasons I didn’t know, instead of going to the gambling den, I found myself listening to Bro. More’s discussion. Right there and then, I came to realize that I have to study the Holy Scriptures. I started to examine different organizations of faith.

I listened to the teachings of the Seventh Day Adventists, of the Iglesia ni Cristo, of the Jehovah’s witnesses, and of the Born Again movements. It was also in 1983 that I heard Bro. Eliseo Soriano for the first time in “Dis is Manolo and his Genius Family” over DZBB.

Though it was just my first time to hear him, I was readily convinced by the way he was preaching God’s righteousness. I listened to him for four months before I decided to be indoctrinated. Through God’s mercy, I was baptized in this organization on January 7, 1984.

Great changes took place in my life since I became a member of the Church of God. I have given up all my vices. I learned God’s doctrines, which I did not learn from other organizations.

Four months after my baptism, I decide to join the Workers’ Ministry. I felt God’s calling. All of a sudden, I developed great desire to memorize Bible verses and to preach the Word of God. On October 4, 1984, I had my first assignment, and that was in Tela Payong, Baliuag, Bulacan. I was very excited, but nervous at the same time because I knew that preaching the Word of God was not that easy, and it had to be done with utmost caution.

It was in 1985 when I went through a very difficult ordeal. One of my twins – Rhoann – passed away. I received the news about her death while I was attending our ministerial class. I felt very sad, but I just told myself that it was just a trial. I found the whole thing easier to accept when Bro. Eli talked to me. He told me that I had to accept what had happened. First and foremost, my child came from God; and second, she was already assured of salvation. He read to me some verses, and after hearing them, the sadness in my heart vanished. Instead of grieving, I accepted the death of my child wholeheartedly and with gladness.

The other serious problem that came my way which tested my faith was when I had great financial problems. That time, I already thought of quitting the workers’ ministry. But I did not do it; I did not give up. In order to raise money, I decided to sell my tricycle.

In the first place, problems will always be there; that is why, giving up my duty was not the solution to my problem. Through the help of God, I was able to overcome that crisis. What helped me a lot to overcome all the trials that came into my life were very fervent prayers to God. It had been deeply embedded in my heart that, whenever we experience tribulations in life, the only thing that we could do is pray hard and put our trust in God.

I continued to perform my duties as a worker, until in 1995, I became an Officer-in-Charge (OIC). When Bro. Eli gave me this responsibility, I had some apprehensions at first because I know that it is a very sensitive position. That was why I also had to make some adjustments.

In 2001, I became a Minister-in-Charge (MIC) in Bulacan, but at present, I am one of the MIC’s in Bataan, Zambales, North 1 and North2 Division.

I am greatly indebted to Bro. Eli for opening my eyes to God’s undefiled doctrines. Together with Bro. Daniel, he gave me all the support and encouragement for me to be able to handle well the responsibility that had been entrusted to me. But above all else, I am very thankful to God for giving me the opportunity to be of help to our preacher, despite my limitations.

First published in Believer Newsmagazine, Feb. 2005

This entry was posted in Debate, Experience leading to salvation, Search for truth, True religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

